Painting moldings- black, clear or other.

General E28 FAQs.
M5BB

Painting moldings- black, clear or other.

Post by M5BB »

I'm a professional wood finisher and I know you think... so what?
We'll it also help's me do a pretty damm good job of finishing metal and fiberglass. You should see my sailboat.
Aluminum moldings have to be primed with an etching type primer. That's the only way the paint will stay for any length of time. My black bumpers which many have seen were done that way. Sanding is important but you don't want to go so fine with the paper (no steelwool) that the surface is so slippery that nothing will stick to it.
The paint needs a tooth to hang on to. 400 wet sanding would be best. One other thing, before you start sanding wipe down all the molding with alcohol that you can get at the H store. And don't drink this stuff it will kill you. This will remove any wax, silicone (bad stuff for paint) or oil before you start sanding. You don't want to sand this stuff right into the surface.
If you think you might be too close to your paint, do the masking before you start sanding. You might have to replace some of it before painting but it's better than scratching your paint.
The primer Dupli-Color Self Etching Primer (it's green)can then be applied and then wet sand that with 600 paper. Careful don't sand it all off. The object is to get it smooth and fill any tiny voids. Put a few drops of dishwashing soap in a bucket of water and then dip the paper in the bucket.This helps the paper slide along and carry away the particles. Keep the water flowing or the paper will clog up and not sand. Don't be cheap about the paper either. It does not last very long and you'll just be waisting your time.