Antenna switch install.

E28 technical advice asked and given! Troubleshooting, modifications and more.
cek
Posts: 8748
Joined: Mar 18, 2013 6:25 PM
Location: əʞɐl ʇlɐs puɐ əlʇʇɐəs
Contact:

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by cek »

Love this. Wish I would have seen it before I put a 'white wire cutoff fog light switch' in both my cars.
e28Sean
Posts: 917
Joined: Nov 23, 2007 3:07 PM
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by e28Sean »

I'm impressed.

I might have to steal this idea from you.
demetk
Posts: 8214
Joined: Aug 09, 2007 8:58 AM
Location: CT, USA

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by demetk »

Steal away. :)
AdamCosmos
Posts: 38
Joined: May 23, 2018 6:25 PM
Location: Jersey City

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by AdamCosmos »

Hi All,

I realize this is an old thread, but I got to thinking about this upgrade and wondered if this switch would work as plug an play, rather than modifying an existing switch or using an aftermarket switch. It's the window cut-off switch and I would remove the symbol and wire it so that when pressed in the antenna would work normal and when it's at the above pictured setting it wouldn't. I'm gonna get around to trying it before too long, but i wanted to see what everyone thought Thanks!

Adam

Image
e28Sean
Posts: 917
Joined: Nov 23, 2007 3:07 PM
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by e28Sean »

My understanding is that the circuit breaker (window cut) switch is not designed for regular use. With regular use as an antenna switch it would fail more quickly than a regular -type switch.
demetk
Posts: 8214
Joined: Aug 09, 2007 8:58 AM
Location: CT, USA

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by demetk »

I agree. A better solution would be the fog light switch.
Das_Prachtstrasse
Posts: 5562
Joined: Sep 10, 2006 7:06 AM
Location: Melbourne, Doooown Under

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by Das_Prachtstrasse »

I used a switch from the e23 HVAC control. Specifically the one for middle vent selection. Seemed fitting.
dm635
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 10, 2007 7:36 AM

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by dm635 »

Did this years ago on my E24. I used the 2 prong fog light switch from an E30 or E28. Works perfect. I used the same switch for my kill switch. Hidden in plain sight in the row of 4 switch cutouts under the radio. Studied the ETM looking for the smallest/thinnest wire in the circuit to tap into. That wire is one of the green wires going to the OBC relay box . Engine will crank but not fire. I hit the switch everytime I turn the car off and the all black switch hidden in plain sight just blends right in.
ianodoyle
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 5:55 AM
Location: Dublin

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by ianodoyle »

The switch is not illuminated unless there's power on the white wire from the radio, so if the switch lights are off, the switch won't raise the antenna.

Hey Ron.. going to do this mod. Is there a way to have the switch lit when the lights are on? Even if then stereo is not in use?

Ian
ianodoyle
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 5:55 AM
Location: Dublin

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by ianodoyle »

dm635 wrote: Sep 17, 2018 1:24 PM Did this years ago on my E24. I used the 2 prong fog light switch from an E30 or E28. Works perfect. I used the same switch for my kill switch. Hidden in plain sight in the row of 4 switch cutouts under the radio. Studied the ETM looking for the smallest/thinnest wire in the circuit to tap into. That wire is one of the green wires going to the OBC relay box . Engine will crank but not fire. I hit the switch everytime I turn the car off and the all black switch hidden in plain sight just blends right in.

Love this. Any chance you have a diagram of the wiring as I would love to install. Like the idea of it being in plain site.
ianodoyle
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 5:55 AM
Location: Dublin

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by ianodoyle »

Blue Shadow wrote: Sep 10, 2014 6:59 AM
528elover wrote: This is one thing these cars don't, but should, have - a central locking button.

Actually we do have it. It is built into the Driver's door lock. Operate it and the rest of the car follows, lock or unlock. The front passenger has some control, too, I think but not complete.

I'll need to hunt it down, but the idea is to supply switching to a couple pins on the CLCU.

Well that wasn't too hard to find. Check out the different projects listed here including the button

http://www.lexam.net/peter/carnut/framelift.html
Hey any chance you could put the projects back up online? Sounds great. Ian
BMWCCA2
Posts: 3644
Joined: Feb 12, 2006 1:00 PM
Location: Central Virginia

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by BMWCCA2 »

For the antenna, I always used another of the square switches that kills power to the rear windows. If you look underneath the gear-shift surround, there is already a hole in the metal for RHD cars. All you have to do it trim out the vinyl and foam, plug the new switch in, and use it to interrupt the antenna power lead off the radio. Pushed once, the antenna doesn't get power. Push again and everything works normally. I used this with the stock radios but haven't had much need for it in recent decades since most after-market radios will only power the antenna with radio, if you choose that wiring option. Very simple, requires very little skill, and just one OE switch.
:dunno:
cek
Posts: 8748
Joined: Mar 18, 2013 6:25 PM
Location: əʞɐl ʇlɐs puɐ əlʇʇɐəs
Contact:

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by cek »

BMWCCA2 wrote: Sep 22, 2020 9:11 AM For the antenna, I always used another of the square switches that kills power to the rear windows. If you look underneath the gear-shift surround, there is already a hole in the metal for RHD cars. All you have to do it trim out the vinyl and foam, plug the new switch in, and use it to interrupt the antenna power lead off the radio. Pushed once, the antenna doesn't get power. Push again and everything works normally. I used this with the stock radios but haven't had much need for it in recent decades since most after-market radios will only power the antenna with radio, if you choose that wiring option. Very simple, requires very little skill, and just one OE switch.
:dunno:
That's what my fog light button to the left of the head unit does. Nice thing about doing it here is the white antenna trigger wire is right there.

Image
Blue Shadow
Posts: 9297
Joined: Feb 12, 2006 1:00 PM
Location: SE PA

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by Blue Shadow »

Ian, this page is available in the web wayback machine. Looking in the archive, it showed up here

https://web.archive.org/web/20120125065 ... cking.html
e28Sean
Posts: 917
Joined: Nov 23, 2007 3:07 PM
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Antenna switch install.

Post by e28Sean »

I got around to doing this a while ago. I used a US-style fog light switch in the right hand blanking panel to interrupt the 'antenna up' wire from the radio, such that while the switch is in the ON position, the antenna goes up/down with radio on/off. When in the off position, the antenna simply stays down.

Image
Post Reply