Mass Airflow sensor conversion?

E28 technical advice asked and given! Troubleshooting, modifications and more.
smackmybutter535i

Post by smackmybutter535i »

I heard somwere that I can change my Airflow meter over to a MAF sensor for some good horsepower. Are they full of it? if not how would I go about doing this and without messing anything up?
rs4pro3

Post by rs4pro3 »

Yep it can be done 15hp seems like an average power gain I hear of. Most recent GrassRoots motorsports has a nice article on adding a MAF to a S38 engine.
Shawn D.
Beamter
Beamter

Post by Shawn D. »

Well, smackmybutter535i, do you really mean what you say in your signature: "I'm a newbie, help me out on what to do next for the best bang for a buck"? If so, a MAF is not the way to go. $$/performance, it's down on the list. First would be a different diff ratio (i.e. a 3.46 or 3.73), second would be a Conforti or D'Sylva chip, and third would be a lightened flywheel (if your car is a 5-speed). Unless you're adept at wiring and tuning, a MAF isn't a good choice.
smackmybutter535i

Post by smackmybutter535i »

I am a newbie to performance upgardes on the motor and drivetrain. But electrical and suspension are nothing new to me. I have great wiring skills so when it comes to wiring in a MAF sensor I'm all about it. I just wanna know the diagrams on what to tap and what to use. Thanks. I want to get into autocross so what do you think would be the better diff the 3.46 or the 3.73 from what I hear the 3.73 only gains power in 3rd gear and up. so I was thinking maybe the 3.46 would be better for autocrossing or am I wrong?
Mark 88/M5 Houston

Post by Mark 88/M5 Houston »

For most autocrossing I would recommend the 3.73 diff. You can get an idea of what is involved with the MAF conversion if you go to Split Second's web site. (http://www.splitsec.com/)
stuartinmn

Post by stuartinmn »