'88 M5 Project FS

Buy, sell or trade whole vehicles.
glenns0245

'88 M5 Project FS

Post by glenns0245 »

Let me start by stating that I have no real desire to do this. However, I cant use the garage I have been working out of for the last 2 years, so my M5 project is somewhat in jeopardy. I have a new location that I can sign a lease for on Saturday, but the price is much higher than I want to pay so Im feeling out sale options. If I dont have a sale that works by Saturday Im going to sign a year lease with the landlord and commit to finishing the car.

All that out of the way, I have an M5 that Ive been slowly working on since I bought it off a board member back in 2019. The car overheated and damaged the head, gasket, and block. I bought the car with the engine out but still assembled with some new parts to get the job started. The PO was supposed to include a head that was supposedly being fixed up in OR but it has never been sent to me.

I since have had the car brought to LA, broke the engine down, had the block cleaned up + bore to first over (to match CP forged pistons from the PO), the crank balanced to the forged internals, flywheel lightened and balanced, found some beefy cams and a crackless dash , as well as tested the trans + dif + electronics/ecu to ensure they were all in order.

The car still needs to have the head redone + needs the forged CP rods to match the pistons to run.

On the cosmetic side, the body is straight albeit showing some dents that could easily be removed with paintless dent removal and will need a good multi stage waxing to get the paint looking great. There is some paint missing on the rear wing also. The interior is pretty straight overall, but the driver seat is blown out and the kick panel needs some love to stay in place.