New to me 524TD

Finally, a home for all you 524td oil burners out there.
SherlockCholms10

New to me 524TD

Post by SherlockCholms10 »

Good morning all,

I am the new owner of a 524TD, and that I found on the local marketplace. I am looking forward to many discussions with the membership, as it is going to be a project. I’ll have to get some pictures, but from what I was told, the prior owner (a BMW tech) had been in the midst of a engine rebuild and manual transmission swap and either had health problems or passed away. Then the car sat for several years and now I’ve got it. The transmission is out, the interior is all ripped apart and the engine (supposedly freshly rebuilt) is physically installed but needs all the small stuff done to finish the install.

Supposedly all the parts required to put this back together are there, I guess I will find out. This is my first BMW, but I have a lot of experience with Diesel trucks, so I’m not a complete novice. I’ll get some pictures up tomorrow, start sorting through the parts and try to pick a starting point.
Last edited by SherlockCholms10 on Mar 22, 2022 12:24 PM, edited 1 time in total.
Galahad

Re: New 524TD intro

Post by Galahad »

Welcome! I got a my first 524td last month, although it's in fewer pieces than yours. This sounds like a fun project!
gadget73

Post by gadget73 »

Welcome

Mine is a Lincoln and came to me in one piece but I've taken different things apart to fix it. Don't know anything about the rest of the car but the engine is the same at least. I've picked up projects that other people started more than once though. Half the battle is figuring out what you have and what you don't, and where its all supposed to go.
SherlockCholms10

Thanks for your kind replies all. I'm waiting for the sun to come up in order to take some decent pictures. It rained fairly heavily here this weekend so I suppose I'm about to find out if there are any leaks as well.